Really GM?

Off topic from bikes today, but after seeing this I had to share.  Cruising the streets of Fredonia in my other mean ride, a Golden 95 Saturn SL1….

I’m minding my own business, when this thing rolls past me…

I wish I could find a better rear shot, but boy is it ugly. I was almost offended by that wing. It doesn’t fit, doesn’t make any sense, and doesn’t serve any purpose except give me something to complain about. The high belt line actually looks somewhat nice but is completely invalidated by that wing. I went to look up on line if you can order one without that wing, and it turns out you can, to the tune of this….(edit.. this picture took me forever to find.. apparently the new GXP cannot be ordered without the ‘hammerhead’ spoiler.. hammerhead? hmmm… more to come on that..)

Looks like a used bar of soap. This is actually the ‘street edition’ G6, with just front and rear GXP fascias, and the same anchor of an engine 3.6 liter pushrod v-6. And with a whopping 252 horses, this motor incredibly outdated. C’mooon GM.

After finding out that the GXP spoiler has come into the name hammerhead, brought to mind some Porsche styling…..

Porsche 911, with what was called a whale tail. Whats with the marine references?

Leave a comment